february, 2022

05feb8:00 pmBoston, MA USA - Boston Symphony Orchestra - Dvořák, Janáček8:00 pm Boston Symphony Hall


Event Details

Jakub Hrůša , conductor
Kateřina Kněžíkov, soprano
Sasha Cooke, mezzo-soprano
Brandon Jovanovich, tenor
Adam Plachetka, bass
Paul Jacobs, organ
Tanglewood Festival Chorus
Boston Symphony Orchestra

Janáček’s Jealousy
Rachmaninov: Piano Concerto No. 2
Dvořák: Symphony No. 6

Czech conductor Jakub Hrůša is joined by the Tanglewood Festival Chorus in its first BSO concerts since February 2020 in Leoš Janáček’s Glagolitic Mass an affirmation of the composer’s deep-seated identity as a Czech composer and as a Slav. Its music style is colored by Slavic traditional and sacred music, and sounds both ancient and very modern. Opening the program is Janáček’s great Czech predecessor Antonín Dvořák’s Symphony No. 6. One of the finest of Romantic symphonies, it was written for the prestigious Vienna Philharmonic and conductor Hans Richter.


(Saturday) 8:00 pm


Boston Symphony Hall

301 Massachusetts Ave, Boston, MA 02115, United States