Bohemian Tales

Augustin Hadelich, violin; Charles Owen, piano

Symphonie-Orchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks; Jakub Hrůša, conductor

Warner Classics / 2020

“Mr Hadelich increasingly seems to be one of the outstanding violinists of his generation,” wrote the New York Times after Augustin Hadelich played Dvořák’s Violin Concerto under Czech-born Jakub Hrůša’s baton in 2017. Hadelich and Hrůša have now recorded the concerto with the Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks . Bohemian Tales pairs the concerto with works for violin and piano by Dvořák and two other major Czech composers of the late 19th/early 20th centuries, Leos Janáček and Josef Suk. The pianist is Charles Owen.

Dvořák: Violin Concerto in A minor, Op. 53
1. I. Allegro ma non troppo
2. II. Adagio ma non troppo
3. III. Allegro giocoso, ma non troppo:

4. Dvořák: Romantic piece, Op. 75, No. 4

Janáček: Violin Sonata
5. I. Con moto
6. II. Ballada
7. III. Allegretto
8. IV. Adagio

Suk: Four Pieces for Violin and Piano, Op. 17
9. No. 1, Quasi ballata
10. No. 2, Appassionato
11. No. 3, Un poco triste
12. No. 4, Burleska

13. Dvořák: Songs My Mother Taught Me, Op. 55 No. 4

14. Dvořák: Humoresque in G flat major, Op. 101 No. 7

Listen on Spotify


Jakub Hrůša has the Bavarian RSO playing with vigour and a comparable sense of care

Editor's Choice

With Hruša drawing stylish sounds from the Bavarian orchestra — especially the woodwinds — this performance [of the Concerto] sounds idiomatic, irresistibly dance-like in the closing furiant section, yet with an undertow of melancholy that makes Dvořák so distinctive
The Sunday Times

Editor's Choice