Jakub Hrůša will make his Staatskapelle Berlin debut in Chicago on 28 November. The programme includes Brahms’s Symphony No. 3 in F Major Op. 90 and Symphony No. 1 in C minor Op. 68. He is stepping in for Daniel Barenboim, who unfortunately had to withdraw from the orchestra’s North American tour due to health reasons. The other concerts on the tour will be led by Yannick Nézet-Séguin and Giedrė Šlekytė.

Daniel Barenboim said, “It is with great regret that I need to withdraw from the Staatskapelle Berlin’s upcoming concert tour to Canada and the USA. I was very much looking forward to returning to this tour but my health simply does not allow me to undertake the strenuous transatlantic travel and the many domestic trips required for this tour. I am thankful for everyone’s understanding and good wishes.”

“The Chicago Symphony Orchestra Association is grateful to Jakub Hrůša for agreeing to lead the Staatkapelle Berlin in this Symphony Center Presents concert. While we are saddened that Maestro Barenboim is unable to return to Chicago for this concert, we are very pleased to be presenting Jakub Hrůša’s debut with this legendary orchestra” said Jeff Alexander, CSOA President.

Staatskapelle Berlin said, “We send all our best wishes to Maestro Barenboim, and are incredibly grateful to not one, but three fantastic conductors, who will be stepping in for this tour.

“Just weeks after making his US operatic debut with Jenůfa for the Lyric Opera of Chicago, and and a much-loved regular guest-conductor with the Chicago Symphony, Jakub Hrůša will make his debut with the Staatskapelle Berlin in Chicago. Hrůša is the 2023 Opus Klassik Conductor of the year and incoming Music Director of the Royal Opera, Covent Garden from 2025. He is also Chief Conductor of the Bamberg Symphony, Principal Guest Conductor of the Czech Philharmonic and Principal Guest Conductor of the Orchestra dell’Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia.”

Chicago: Symphony Center
28 November at 7:30 pm
Johannes Brahms
Symphony No. 3 in F Major Op. 90
Symphony No. 1 in C minor Op. 68
Click here for more information and to purchase tickets

Photo: Marian Lenhard