july, 2021

31jul7:30 pmKlosters, Switzerland - Opening Concert - Kammerorchester Basel - Mozart7:30 pm Concert Hall, Arena Klosters


Event Details

Jakub Hrůša, Conductor

Performing with
Lucas Debargue, Piano
Giulia Semenzato, Soprano
Hanno Müller-Brachmann, Baritone
Kammerorchester Basel

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756–1791)
Symphony no. 38 in D major, “Prague Symphony”, KV 504
Piano Concerto No. 23 in A major, KV 488
Overture from “The Marriage of Figaro”, KV 492
Aria “Giunse al fin il momento – deh vieni non tardar” from “The Marriage of Figaro”, KV 492
Aria “Tutto è disposto”
from “The Marriage of Figaro”, KV 492
Aria “Crudele? Non mi dir”
from “Don Giovanni”, KV 527
Aria “Madamina, il catalago è questo”
from “Don Giovanni”, KV 527
Duettino “Crudel! Perché finora farmi languir così?” from “The Marriage of Figaro”, KV 492
Duet “Cinque… dieci… venti… trenta…”
from “The Marriage of Figaro”, KV 492

Klosters Music 2021 dedicates the opening concert to the great composer Mozart and his love for the Bohemian city of Prague.

It is hardly surprising that Prague, one of the musical capitals of 18th Century Europe, was home to many fine ensembles and had a vibrant operatic tradition. It attracted Mozart and his contemporaries who were impressed by its charisma and charm. Mozart (1756-1791) visited Prague at least 4 times and was idolised by its public. Le nozze di Figaro and Don Giovanni were performed to great acclaim and La clemenza di Tito was commissioned for the coronation of the King of Bohemia in 1791.

Mozart’s Symphony no 38 was premiered in Prague in 1787. Straining the limits of what his orchestra can do, Mozart creates a tumult of symphonic imagination and riotous creativity. A lifetime of listening will not exhaust its richness. We are delighted to welcome the leading Czech conductor, Jakub Hrůša and The Basel Chamber Orchestra to Klosters for what promises to be a definitive performance of this work. The A major piano concerto of Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart is a work of lyricism and serenity, elegant and flowing. It is recognised as one of Mozart’s greatest achievements. The French pianist Lucas Debargue, a Laureate of the XV Tchaikovsky Piano Competition in Moscow where he was awarded the critics’ prize for his incredible gifts, artistic vision and creative freedom, will perform this sublime work. A selection of Arias from Don Giovanni and La nozze di Figaro complete the program.


(Saturday) 7:30 pm


Concert Hall, Arena Klosters

Doggilochstrasse 51, 7250 Klosters-Serneus, Switzerland